Comparison July 18, 2026 8 min read

BIOS vs LMNT vs Liquid IV: Honest Electrolyte Comparison (2026)

We break down sodium, calories, sugar, ingredients, and sourcing transparency across the three most popular electrolyte brands. See how BIOS Hydration stacks up against LMNT and Liquid IV on the metrics that actually matter.

electrolyte comparison LMNT vs Liquid IV best electrolyte powder BIOS Hydration review
Share:

The Electrolyte Market in 2026

The hydration supplement market has exploded in recent years, with dozens of brands competing for your attention — and your wallet. Three names dominate the conversation: Liquid IV (acquired by Unilever for $500M), LMNT (the keto/paleo favorite), and BIOS Hydration (the newcomer built on cellular transport science and American-sourced ingredients).

But which one actually delivers the best hydration? We compared them across the metrics that matter: sodium content, calorie load, sugar, ingredient quality, sourcing transparency, and price per serving.

Head-to-Head Comparison

MetricBIOS HydrationLMNTLiquid IV
Sodium (mg/serving)255 mg1,000 mg510 mg
Calories81045
Sugar (g)2g (glucose only)0g11g
Artificial SweetenersNoneSteviaNone
Artificial DyesNoneNoneYes
Ingredients Sourced in USAYesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Salt SourceRedmond Real Salt (Utah)Not specifiedNot specified
Science BasisSGLT1 cotransport (WHO ORS)Ancestral healthCTT (Cellular Transport Technology)
Price/Serving~$1.25~$1.67~$1.50

Why Sodium Matters (But More Isn't Always Better)

LMNT lists 1,000mg of sodium per serving, while BIOS lists 255mg. WHO oral rehydration salts are designed for clinical contexts and are not a direct target formula for a daily consumer supplement. BIOS’s sodium amount is a formulation choice, not a claim of clinical equivalence.

More sodium is not inherently better for every individual or use case. Formula composition, preparation, diet, medical considerations, and sweat losses all matter; BIOS does not claim an “optimal” sodium amount for all consumers.

The Sugar Question: Why BIOS Uses 2g of Glucose

Some electrolyte formulas use no sugar, while others include glucose. SGLT1 physiology is a reason to examine sodium and glucose together, but neither a glucose-free formula nor a glucose-containing formula establishes a guaranteed outcome for an individual.

BIOS lists 2g of glucose per serving, which is approximately 11.1 mmol. That serving-level formulation input is near-equimolar with its disclosed sodium amount; it is not presented as the minimum effective dose or a superiority claim.

Sourcing Transparency: The Elephant in the Room

Neither LMNT nor Liquid IV disclose where their raw ingredients come from. When we investigated the supplement supply chain, we found that 70-90% of US supplement raw materials originate from China. BIOS is the only brand in this comparison that publicly commits to US-sourced ingredients, including Redmond Real Salt from Utah, USP-grade potassium citrate, and domestically-chelated magnesium bisglycinate.

The Verdict

Compare products by their final labels, intended use, ingredient preferences, price, and any health considerations. BIOS’s public commitments are transparent formula disclosure, a consumer hydration positioning, and a U.S.-sourcing objective—not a claim to be the clear winner for every consumer.

Get Hydration Tips Weekly

Science-backed hydration insights + early access to BIOS products. Join 500+ founding members.

Join the Waitlist
Swag, Gear & Samples First Look
Back This Project